Administrative Options – Disable Specific Features and Limit Access
Administrative options are a group of settings that will help to limit the work of specific core features. An example is an access to the plugin settings or plugin editing fields. All those options you can find in Advanced -> Administrative.
- Deactivate AJAX save of settings – this option you need in case there is a problem with the standard options save (pressing the button does not save the changes you have made). The option will change the way of saving command and instead of the fancy animation you see when you press the button, options will save and the page will reload.
- Don’t save a history of settings change – by default plugin stores 10 last copy of the settings when you press the save button. In case you do not need the history, you can stop the keeping process from here. The history is used only to restore the information and does not have any effect over the front-end work of the plugin.
- Deactivate checks for news and extensions – the option will remove the fancy admin dashboard widget with news from our blog.
- Turn off front end quick plugin setup – the option will turn off the blue icon appearing on the front-end of the site for a quick options change. The front-end quick setup is visible only for logged in users with Administrative access. Your regular logged-in users or editors will not see the button and they will not have access to the features. In case you do not use that feature, you can set to Yes.
- Do not load translations of interface – the plugin translations are build from our users. They are loaded automatically when the WordPress installation language is one of those we have a translation for. But as we are not sure about the quality of translation we gave an option to switch the loading to No. So if plugin runs on your native language but you did not find that useful just set to Yes and save settings. After that, you will see the standard English interface of the plugin.
- Stop automatic updates – does exactly what is says. The option will stop automated update checks and from now on you will update plugin only manually. We do not recommend to use that option as you will stack on a previous version. Very rare the host may limit update of plugins that are not hosted on WordPress.org. If so the automatic update check will produce a nag message on your WordPress administration. In this situation, the option is for you to remove the message.
- Deactivate internal help hints – the option will remove the buttons says “Need help?” and the blue panels with hints. If you are not a fan of those quick links you can activate it.
- Remove shares column from posts list – the option will remove the column from the post lists in WordPress administration for the total number of shares. If you are not using share counters on your site then you can activate it to prevent an empty column appear. You can set back to No at any time if you need the column.
Plugin Settings Access
The options from the access section control the appearance and access to plugin settings. Change with caution if you have multiple users accessing your WordPress administration with different roles (for example contributors or editors).
- Remove the plugin menu from the top bar – this refers to the WordPress admin top bar where plugin adds a menu entry Easy Social Share Buttons. The option will remove that. Keep in mind that this menu gives quick access to the settings, shortcode generation but it will also help when you browse a post to start a debugger for sharing on various networks, clear counters, etc.
- Plugin settings access – this is the role the user should have to access the settings of the plugin. Recommended is to keep that running with the Administrator role.
- Limit post/page settings access – if enabled the option will limit the fields plugin add on editing screen of the post to the selected role. The default is to avoid any limitation and users that can edit a post will also be able to edit those fields. The fields on the post are those for editing and optimizing the shared information, but also may be fields for the button placement.
- User access role – if you enable the previous option you can choose here the role of the user that will see the options for editing.
- Fully deactivate plugin editing meta boxes – this will entirely remove plugin options from the post/page edit screen. If you enable the option will have no control over the shared information – the plugin will always share the default generated from post content.
The options control the different components of the plugin on the post/page editing screen. Those components appear on the post types where the plugin is associated to appear automatically (but some like social media optimization tags will appear always).
- Remove post advanced visual settings meta box – it is enabled by default. The option hide an advanced display style change for the current post. The options are rarely used. The switch will show a new set where you can change the button style, active positions, counters, etc. but just for the current post/page.
- Remove post share customization meta box – if enabled the plugin will hide the panel where you can change the social media optimization information, set custom Tweet or custom Pinterest message, etc.
- Remove post detailed stats meta box – the option control a specific feature meta box. It will be added to each post if you enable the internal analytics with the stats data.
- Remove post plugin deactivation box – the option refer to the top right panel added on each post/page in editing. This panel is just above the saving and you can use it to disable automatically generated share buttons. It will not disable any shortcode, embed in theme code or builder element – only automatically displayed buttons.